Graphic of Dean College Employee Service Awards

Dean College faculty and staff were honored for their dedication and service at the 2020 Employee Service Awards held virtually on Friday, December 18, 2020.

During the ceremony, new hires were recognized and employee milestones of 5 through 30 years were celebrated. Standout milestones included Dennis Burns for 20 years, James T. Beauregard and Melissa Read for 25 years, and Jeanny M. Lacey ‘99, George O’Grady and Nanci McCabe Wood ’98 for 30 years of service.

In addition, the College recognized longstanding employees retiring this year, including: Professor Emeritus of English, Jeffrey Skillings; Edward “Ted” Burke; Margaret “Peggy” Calnan ’93; and Michael Kobbs.

Additional awards were given to employees who exemplify The Dean Difference – going above and beyond their roles at the college.

The Bess Walsh Award is given out each year to honor an employee who has worked at the college for ten plus years and displays outstanding loyalty to Dean. Professor of History and Director of the Honors Program, Dr. Rob Lawson, was honored for his outstanding contributions to both students and alumni.  

The James Fox Retention Award recognizes academic programs or initiatives that support retention. This year the team responsible for diversifying the quantitative reasoning requirement across the curriculum was honored. Team members awarded included Dr. Brad Hastings, Dr. P. Gerard Shaw, Dr. Jessica Pisano, Kelly A. Rys, and the many full-time and adjunct faculty members in math, business, social science, and the arts who contributed content to ensure that the curriculum was contextualized to the majors.  

The Boomer Award was created to honor the unsung heroes in the Dean community, who make meaningful contributions every day. These individuals exemplify Dean’s motto: “Never give up, Never settle, Never lose sight of your dreams.” While in the midst of the pandemic, all faculty and staff came together to ensure our students continued to receive a quality education. So, this year, the award was given to ALL members of the Dean College Community for their compassion, support and dedication to students.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients and to all Dean employees for their outstanding work this year!