Winners (a group of Dean College employees) of the Jim Fox Retention Award

Dean College faculty and staff were honored for their dedication and service at the 2019 Employee Service Awards held on Friday, December 13, 2019. 

During the ceremony, new hires were recognized and employee milestones of 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 55 were celebrated. Standout milestones included Fran Papsis and Karline Wild for 25 years, Jill Silverman for 30 years, Peggy Calnan for 35 years and Joan Palladino for a remarkable 55 years of service. 

Additional awards were given to employees who exemplify The Dean Difference – going above and beyond their roles at the college. 

The Bess Walsh Award is given out each year to honor an employee who has worked at the college for ten plus years and displays outstanding loyalty to Dean. Professor of Sociology and Program Coordinator of Social Sciences, Kristin Holster, was this year’s honoree. 

The James Fox Retention Award recognizes academic programs or initiatives that support retention. This year the Bulldog Beginnings program was honored. Core team members who accepted the award included Jen Polimer (chair), Wendy Adler, Marc Arentsen, Robin Bowman, Kathy Casey, Dave Drucker, Michael Fishbein, Kristin Fitzgerald, Brad Hastings, Cindy Kozil, Tracy Lane, Amy Matten, Shannon Overcash, Dawn Poirier, Melissa Read and Gerry Shaw.

The Boomer Award was created to honor the unsung heroes in the Dean community, who make meaningful contributions every day. These individuals exemplify Dean’s motto: Never give up, Never settle, Never lose sight of your dreams. This year Laura Valle, Alyson Taylor and Tracy Lane were honored with this distinction.

Following the ceremony, employees were invited to a Holiday Reception in the Main Stage, featuring a live musician, festive décor and delicious food and drinks. 

Congratulations to this year’s recipients and to all Dean employees for their outstanding work this year!